In Good Company

Saturday evening found me and my thoughts alone in my apartment. Well, kind of. I took the liberty of inviting in a few guests for a cup of tea and sourdough sandwiches. The tea was most excellent: vanilla with a splash of cream and sprinkle of sugar. The sandwich: homemade sourdough bread. Need I say more?

While thinking has been called a dangerous pastime, I find that I relish solitude for the creative seeds that begin to sprout and take form in my mind. Dangerous? Hardly. But I love drawing on the wisdom and inspiration of others as I venture my way through life. Tonight brought the company of one Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and one Clive Staples Lewis to join me in my living room and oh how wonderful they are! So often during the school-year I find myself wishing for the time to peruse a verse or two of poetry, practice a musical instrument, or perfect a recipe that I’ve invented. Yet when an evening rolls along where I have nowhere to be, I feel like a social dud as I sit there thinking “I wish I had somewhere to be”. But no more! Tonight I basked in the world of wonder, allowing the words and creations of great thinkers to temporarily become my own thoughts. And best of all were the conversations with friends (real and in-the-flesh friends I might add) that followed.  In the words of dear Uncle Jack…

From the poem "Oxford" by C.S. Lewis

From the poem “Oxford” by C.S. Lewis

One thought on “In Good Company

  1. I feel the same way! And you put it so well. I often long for “me time” but once that rolls around I label myself a social failure for the night. But as you pointed out, alone time allows for personal development and creativity. Even Christ needed His “me time”.

Your thoughts? Keep 'em coming.

